MTNS, the International Symposium on the Mathematical Theory of Networks and Systems is a major symposium in the general area of mathematical systems theory. The symposium is interdisciplinary and attracts mathematicians, engineers and researchers working in all aspects of systems theory. The symposium is organized every two years and traditionally covers areas involving a wide range of research directions in mathematical systems, networks and control theory. Mathematical methods which play a role in the areas mentioned above stem from a broad range of fields of pure and applied mathematics, including ordinary and partial differential equations, real and complex analysis, numerical analysis, probability theory and stochastic analysis, operator theory, linear and commutative algebra as well as algebraic and differential geometry. There are a wide range of applications ranging from problems in biology, communications and mathematical finance to problems in chemical engineering, aerospace engineering and robotics.

The meetings are scheduled by an international steering committee. The twenty previous MTNS meetings were held in:

1973                       College Park, Maryland, USA
1975                       Montreal, Canada
1977                       Lubbock, Texas, USA
1979                       Delft, the Netherlands
1981                       Santa Monica, California, USA
1983                       Beer Sheva, Israel
1985                       Stockholm, Sweden,
1987                       Phoenix, Arizona, USA
1989                       Amsterdam, the Netherlands
1991                       Kobe, Japan
1993                       Regensburg, Germany
1996                       St. Louis, Missouri, USA
1998                       Padova, Italy
2000                       Perpignan, France
2002                       Notre Dame, Indiana, USA
2004                       Leuven, Belgium
2006                       Kyoto, Japan
2008                       Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
2010                       Budapest, Hungary
2012                       Melbourne, Australia
2014                       Groningen, Netherlands
2016                       Minneapolis, USA